Successes and Failures as of Late

Here I am at Day 20 of consecutive writing. Hooray! Next goal is 30 days. Some of the days have been scarce as I have been busy and honestly some days I just don’t have the motivation for much. As promised in the last post, I did complete my quilt top and here is a photo of it.

20160909_223444

It is called the Tifton Tiles Fat Quarter Quilt and it is made up of 9 different fat quarters cut into sections. The pattern can be found here. I have not made my quilt sandwich and begun quilting yet. So far, this is just a top.

I do wish I had balanced the darker purple a little more to the left, but other than that I was fairly happy with it. I did have a nicer layout of this quilt that day, but we had accidentally left the window open and the wind blew through and destroyed much of my layout, so I had to start over.

I liked the first layout better, but couldn’t remember it fabric for fabric, so I just had to piece it back together as best as I could. Believe me when I say that the second time around, that window was shut and I began sewing ASAP! On September 27th, I will begin my first quilting class to learn everything I need to know to make a quilt. Until then, the Tifton Tiles Quilt will be put aside.

I have not decided which quilt top I will make with the other 9 fat quarters I have in my possession. There are so many great patterns out there! I still have one table runner to finish up for a friend and I need to get to it. Fall is here on September 22, I believe, and she wanted fall fabrics.

I just have to post a photo I took of Iris while she was napping in my lap yesterday. She just made herself so darn comfy that I have to show this off. I turned the photo to black and white because I was wearing black and white and she is gray and cream and I thought it showed the contrast better than trying to do it in “color.”

2016-09-12-21-19-07

She always sleeps down the length of my legs an then she rolled and her back paws were straight up in the air. Such a cutie!

So the quilt top was a success and the consecutive writing was a success. What are the failures you ask? Well, I am not really writing creatively right now, even though I sort of want to, it is almost as if I have been away from it for so long that I am afraid of tryig to get back into it. I haven’t been reading either, and I would prefer to be doing one or the other.

Another failure is that my house is a mess. I really need to clean it. I had a hectic week and weekend last week so I was really looking forward to yesterday and today to catch up on housework. Yesterday I napped with Iris, today I slept again after dropping Hubby at work and now I am on the internet.

I had another hospitalization for mental health in July and I guess I am still reeling from that. I have to quit my full time job at the end of this month because I am in day treatment and my FMLA is running out. I plan to volunteer there for a bit to keep some structure in my days and finish up a couple of things I wanted to.

I am looking for part time but am hoping to find something that doesn’t require any or many weekends. I had thought about going back to the public library, but every other weekend work schedules stink, and I would prefer to avoid that. I have been spoiled. Maybe I should get in touch with the freelance company that presented to us at the writers’ guild in July. I might be able to write for them. It’s just the motivation that makes the difference. I will have to be self-motivated and right now that isn’t working out for me too well.

I will be taking a class on making a silhouette vest next week. If I am successful, I will post pics. Have a great week all!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

