Oh What a Beautiful Morning

Woot! Working on Day 10 of my second attempt at 180 days of writing. It was just a matter of getting started again and setting small goals for myself. Next goal is 20 days.

Last night after work, Hubby and I drove out to Mom and Dad’s. Traffic in our home town was horrendous. Cars stalled in passing lanes, accidents in and out of construction zones, boat traffic trying to crawl down to the Lake of the Ozarks for the holiday weekend. It took hubby nearly an hour just to get home, and we live in a town of about 40,000. Fortunately our friend (we’ll call him Uncle Batman as his nieces and nephews do) beat him to the my office and took me home so I could start packing. I was mostly done by the time he got home.

We had a pleasant evening catching up with Mom and Dad, but the overnight was a bit rough. The puppies (pictured above) barked part of the night and then the rooster started crowing around 5 am. I just left Hubby. He managed to doze off after a cuddle in spite of Ernie’s constant crowing. I switched off the light and tiptoed down the stairs. Well, as much as one can tiptoe in a creaky old house I suppose.
So here I have sat since about six a.m. trying to type as fast on my phablet as I can on my hybrid laptop. The stylus helps me not make as many typos, but I still miss typing with fingers.

My parents sleep in more than they used to. 5:30 was once a normal wake up time. I thought Mom would certainly be up just because she heard me come down and she is typically a light sleeper. Yet it is now 6:30. Ernie has finally succeeded in coaxing a dim light onto the sky, and there is no sign of her. Meanwhile, my eyelids are still drooping with sleepiness and my stomach is begging for sustenance.

Today, our plan is to sew and maybe make cinnamon raisin or cinnamon cherry English muffins. I will probably need a nap in the middle of itall since I didn’t sleep as soundly and woke up early.

I just posted this photo on Facebook of early dawn here. Sometimes I forget how lucky I was to grow up in such a simply beautiful place. Farm life has its dangers, disappointments, and detriments,.but it is a unique coming of age existence as well. I joked with Hubby that Mom and Dad’s is like our own personal bed and breakfast and that city people pay good money to hear a rooster crow at dawn. I don’t think he believes me.

There is one feral yellow cat, probably a growing kitten from this spring, watching me to see if I have food. He is cautiously optimistic as he stares at me with yellow eyes. He is only about 6 feet away from me, but that is probably only because I am next to his food dish.
I used to spend a lot of time with feral kittens, bending them to my will of a somewhat domestic existence. Basically, I have always wanted to be able to pet and hug every cat I see.

Briefly, another kitty ran towards the yard from the barn, but she has an aversion to the paparazzi and promptly ran back to her haven upon catching sight of me.So, little kitty finally got breakfast as you can see from the photo.

Update: 10:00 a.m. I have been trying to lay out a quilt top this morning. I don’t care for the fabrics as much as I would like (someone else picked them out), but it will be good practice to sew this up before I go to my class later this month. Maybe someone will really like it and I can pawn it off on them and make something I actually care about.

Mom is making cherry English muffins today, so the house is saturated with the scent of freshly baked sweet bread with a hint of cinnamon. And they taste as good as they smell. Of course I have already had a sample! They taste as good as they sound. Her secret is to plump the dried fruit in a water bath before adding it to the dough. Perfection every time. It will be difficult for me to stay out of them all weekend.

Update 7:00 p.m. I nearly have my quilt top sewed together. I should have it finished by bedtime. Hopefully I will have time to post photos tomorrow. Have a great holiday all!

Leave a Reply

