A Project Here, A Project There

I got a new prompt from www.terribleminds.com on Friday. There was a list of 20 randomized titles he had generated and I had to randomly select one of them. Using the random number generator at www.random.org , I rolled a 16 and got From the Unseen Departed. At first I was thinking horror story, but that would be easy. Now I am thinking CIA or Witness Protection, something where people disappear for a time or for forever and change identities. I have 1,000 words to work with. Any other suggestions? Feel free to comment. I might actually try to get this assignment done one time. It is due Friday by noon. I have been terrible with keeping up with Chuck’s weekly deadlines. I got so caught up in The Cat Guardian that I never got back on track. Maybe this is the week!

So as I generate this story, I will probably think of characters first since the characters are basically the title of “unseen departed” and I will leave the plot points to come as the characters develop. This is different from the way I was developing As the Stars Align last week. I still haven’t started writing that one because I am actually stuck on the character development, which is very unusual for me.

Do any of you, my precious readers, write from the prompts on Wendig’s blog? If so, share which title you got. I would love to know your process as you write. I think the randomness of it all is what I like most about the Terrible Minds Flash Fiction Friday prompts. I literally look forward to every Friday post just to see what kind of randomness he has come up with since the previous week. If you like to write and haven’t checked out his prompts, I highly recommend them.

I believe I mentioned in one of last week’s posts that an old high school acquaintance lost her hubby to a farming accident. I have been plotting what kind of mixed media piece I will do for her and I plan to work on a 10″ x 10″ canvas, the biggest size I will have ever done. I am going to create half of the canvas with a grief collage and half with a hope of renewal collage. On the grief side I am going to put a woman’s face with tears streaming down her cheeks and silhouettes of her two children from the shoulders up. The colors of the grief side will probably be shades of blue and gray. The hope side is going to be bright colors with a butterfly, a hummingbird, and a tree of life. The butterfly represents renewal/new life. The hummingbird represents savoring what is sweet in life. I am excited about the piece and am still figuring out the media I will use for each element. I will definitely post a photo before I mail it to her.

Well, those are the things I am working on this Monday. I hope everyone is busy creating, even if you are at work. Enjoy the day!

4 thoughts on “A Project Here, A Project There

  1. Sounds like you have the mixed media piece well thought out. : )

    Tammy

    On Mon, Apr 18, 2016 at 2:55 PM, Dogwood Daydreams wrote:

    > Marsha Holtgrewe-Posz posted: “I got a new prompt from > http://www.terribleminds.com on Friday. There was a list of 20 randomized titles > he had generated and I had to randomly select one of them. Using the random > number generator at http://www.random.org , I rolled a 16 and got From the > Unseen Depart” >

  2. I drew THE MESA ROOM. It was so much fun to write. My process was: brainstorm for 2 minutes, then open themostdangerouswritingapp.com and FLOW for 10 minutes. Mext, I edited and revised for about 20 minutes until it resembled a story. Then I went for a run and let it simmer on low heat. When I came back, I spent about an hour polishing it up before publishing.

    1. Brittany,

      Loved The Mesa Room! Thanks for sharing your process. I have not tried The Most Dangerous Writing App. I use 4thewords.com myself. It doesn’t erase anything, but you do have to kill monsters to level up. I pause a lot as I write so this works better for me, but I might have to try it sometime for fun. Thanks for reading my post and commenting. Certainly appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

