On Recovery (again)

I realize I haven’t posted a blog in a few days, so let me explain what has been happening. My mental health has been fine, but my physical health has suffered a bit. I have been dealing with prolonged gastroenteritis for about a month now. I finally got a diagnosis on Friday after weeks of tests and physical discomfort. Last week was particularly bad and I became a little dehydrated. I had to take a day and a half off work and then had the scare of wondering how much of that time would be unpaid. It turns out none of it will be, but for awhile, we wondered.  I have medication now and I am feeling much better. I am no longer dehydrated and have gotten some of my spunk back, so beware! I follow up with my doctor in another two weeks and I have been circling the days on the calendar that I have needed my medication  and so far there are only two.

I am glad I felt better this weekend because I had a very social weekend planned and did not want to spend it in the bathroom. Hubby and I got to teach Magic: The Gathering to lots of new people this weekend on both Saturday evening and Sunday afternoon. And that was after picking up a booster box of Shadows over Innistrad, the latest expansion. We were very pleased with some of the cards we got, particularly me. I got a couple of mythic rares that are pretty good. We played games Saturday and Sunday, so that was fun.

In other news, a high school mate of mine is suffering from a terrible loss. I wanted to go to the funeral or visitation but I was at work and couldn’t take the time off. Her husband was killed while working on the hydraulics on the front loader of his tractor. The loader bucket fell and crushed him. They have two children and did everything together. They were high school sweethearts. I plan to make her a special mixed media piece as a gift and send it to her when she needs a little pick-me-up after everyone else has gone and life is supposed to resume as normal, except she will have to find a new normal. She is a chemistry teacher at the local high school in the county I grew up in. I live about an hour away from there now. We were never close friends, but this is a tight knit community and my class was very close and special. I cannot imagine what she is going through right now. My cousin went to the visitation and described her as “lost.” That’s probably putting it lightly.

I hope to get back to regular blogging now that I am starting to feel a little stronger. I was getting weak from malnutrition during my illness and my brain just wouldn’t cooperate. Thanks for your patience as I recover. I am working on another short work of fiction called As the Stars Align. It is based on a Chuck Wendig Prompt that asked us to use a dragon somewhere in our story, but not necessarily in the traditional sense. Maybe a person named Dragon, etc. This is about a dragon constellation. I hope to post it in the next couple of days. Have a great week, all!

Leave a Reply

