World Bipolar Day

Today is World Bipolar Day. Some of you may have seen my posts on Facebook and Twitter earlier today. I just wanted to commemorate the day by saying bipolar has taught me a lot as a person and that I don’t think I would have as creative of a mind without it. Meds definitely used to interfere with creativity, but once I learned my creativity did not have to be completely focused on my pain, I became a better artist for it.

Yes, it took me years to get where I am today and I still struggle, as is noted in earlier posts when I was hospitalized and otherwise at home. But I am a stronger, resilient, happier, more creative, more stable, more satisfied person as a result of being treated for my bipolar disorder.

So on this World Bipolar Day, I would like to commemorate the doctors, nurses, therapists, and techs who helped me out along the way. Some of them were really good at their jobs and they probably never get enough credit. I would also like to commemorate the companies who make my meds possible. They are too expensive sometimes, but once they become generic, they are great. I take mine every day, in fact, three times a day. They are like breathing–I need to have them.

If you know of anyone who is suffering from any kind of psychiatric illness, use this day as an excuse to reach out to that person. You might save a life or make a life better. Have a great evening, everyone!

Leave a Reply

