My Top 3 Writing Sites

Well, everyone, it is hump day. I thought to myself, What better way to celebrate hump day than give you my three favorite sites as a writer? These sites keep me motivated to write every day, every month, every year! Now, while I still confess I tend to rotate my hobbies, I come back to these three sites time after time for inspiration and motivation, so without further ado, here they are.

1.) www.terribleminds.com, a blog by Chuck Wendig. Chuck is a writer of several fiction series and has written The Kick-Ass Writer, a book on the  craft we know and love. His blog is a lovely mixture of inspiration, fun, and motivating flash fiction challenges to keep you writing every week. I have subscribed to a lot of blogs with writing prompts, but Wendig’s flash fiction challenges are by far the best. They can be random or selected, depending on how you roll. I choose to randomize mine to make it more fun. Wendig is his real self on the blog–no censorship. So, be forewarned that he does use foul language quite a bit. If you are the type who can’t handle the f-bomb, this is not the site for you. But the content is so great, that I don’t mind the language.

2.) www.nanowrimo.org , a site dedicated to National Novel Writing Month in November, is a great way to stay motivated year round. This site isn’t just for November. They have writing camps in April and July (sign up now for April–it’s just around the corner) and the Now What months in January and February. In between they also prompt you to prep for both the camps and the big month of November. In November, the push is to write 50,000 words in 30 days. Camp is a little more informal. You can work on an edit, write short stories, write nonfiction, or whatever goal you have set for yourself those months. I encourage all novelists to join the NaNoWriMo movement. It is a lot of fun in a very supportive and educational environment..

3.) www.4thewords.com , is like a video game for writers. Make projects, keep a timeline, defeat monsters by writing a certain amount of words in a timed battle. This relatively new site is still in beta so for right now it is free. Get in on the free time while you can and enjoy daily writing. They have plans to add to the site, so you have the chance to not only watch, but help it grow. There are forums and, if you are the competitive type, leaderboards for longest writing streak, most words written, and most monsters defeated. Challenge yourself to write every day for a month and see how it goes. I write my blog posts on it. When I have written 444 words, it counts as a day in my writing streak. When I write Chuck’s flash fiction, I write it on this site and use the words to defeat monsters, level up, and win gold. It really is a lot of fun and it keeps me logging in day after day to see what I am capable of.

So there you have it, my top three sites for getting inspiration and staying motivated. They are all completely different types of sites, so I hope you find at least one that works for you. Happy Wednesday, all!

Leave a Reply

