Why the Long Absence

Those of you who know me on a personal basis may have wondered if I fell off the face of the earth. The answer is simply, no. Truth be told, I have not been creating much of anything for the last week or so. There are several reasons for this. I am still a bit stuck on the fifth story. I have been rereading my notes and two phrases have jumped out at me: “When the doors of the asylum slammed shut behind her” and “She felt like a fly caught in a spider web.” I have been mulling over several options for making this person come to life and the one nagging at me the most is telling it from the perspective of her death-bed since so many of these people died in the asylum. She has a long, rich, and varied history before her committal that will make good material. I just wish to write these stories in a way that makes each person feel real again. I started with a couple of paragraphs and had technical difficulties. I still haven’t pulled those words from the mini laptop. Hopefully it saved before it went all nuts. I got a little frustrated and haven’t really tried to retrieve it.

The second reason I have been so silent has to do with work. I have been working part-time at our local library and a full-time position has come available. For health reasons, I have not worked full-time in 15 years. Even working part-time was a big step last fall. Now I have gotten doctor approval for full-time work and am going for it. I have been very anxious about things, yet strangely confident at the same time. I think everything is going to work out. It’s just getting there that is the difficult part.

So, what this boils down to is that the blog is not dead. I still want to create. I just need to get past a couple of road blocks and get off my butt. Perhaps tomorrow morning I can start by trying to retrieve the initial paragraphs I wrote for Margaret’s story. If I go full-time, however, my blogs will likely not be every day as I do wish to spend time with that husband person who lives with me, as well as those little kitties that meow for attention when I walk in the door. Thanks for your patience. I will try to post again soon.

Leave a Reply

