Working from a Suitcase

I just started reading an inspiring book today called The Lives They Left Behind about suitcases found in the attic of an old asylum in upstate New York.  The authors of the book went through some of the cases and, using the contents, interviews, and scarce medical records, they tried to piece together the lives of these forgotten people who resided there before 1950.  The first chapter is about a man who lived their for 50 years.  No, that it not a typo. He really lived there for half a century. Worse still, he didn’t show any symptoms after the first 12-15 years.  Yet they kept him there all that time, probably because he was free labor for the asylum’s cemetery, a rather grim job.

Reading his story has inspired me to write a short story about this man and base it loosely on the facts found in the book.  Sometimes, real life makes the best fiction.  I have even come up with a descriptor for the grave markers.  They were numbered pieces of cast iron stuck in the ground.  It goes like this: blank numbers that whispered nothing.  I have not started writing this story yet, but I am really excited about it.  This is the first time I have really picked up my writing since NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) last November.

I hope to get started on the story later today and will try to post pieces of it as I go along.  I hope to also post revisions, though sometimes I revise as I write.  What do you think of this idea?  Think I can make something of it?  I am really looking forward to writing.  In fact, as soon as I switch my laundry, I will start writing!

book

Leave a Reply

